Congratulations Lisa, Kirsten & Nicole in NZ teams!!!

With the highly contested Trans Tasman clash approaching in March New Zealand has named its three teams; Under 18, Development and Senior, to take on rivals Australia.

In the Under 18 event Nicole Toomey will Skip both the Triples and Fours.

Making her debut at Development level will be Kristen Griffin, who has played at Under 18 level. Kirsten will be leading for Clare McCaul (Silverstream) and also playing the Singles event.

In the Open event Lisa White will lead the Triples and Fours, for Mandy Boyd (Johnsonville) in the Triple and Jo Edwards (Nelson) in the Fours.

It has been a number of years since all three teams have competed alongside each other, bringing together the heavyweights of the sport, fresh out of the World Bowls Championships and the Hyundai National Open Championship 2012-2013, flanked by the up and coming talent which is sure to be dominating the greens in coming years.

“This year’s Trans Tasman is going to be a real spectacle with all three teams being in action at the same venue at the same time” says National Coach Dave Edwards. “The Howick Bowling Club is an ideal venue with the three greens set up in a tiered fashion so spectators will be treated to a real bowls bonanza with the youthful enthusiasm of the Under 18’s, the up and coming Development players and the Senior teams all chasing Trans Tasman supremacy.”

Following the Under 18 Regional Camps held across the country last year and a National squad camp in Auckland, the Under 18 team has been extended from two boys and girls to five boys and five girls for the first time. Due to the increase in youth participation within the sport, this development feeds the demand. This will see an abundance of youthful energy and determination flood the Howick greens as they try to reclaim the Under 18 Trophy from the Australian side.

“This is a great opportunity for the younger players to mix and mingle with the senior players and take the chance at learning as much as they can from them” comments Edwards.

Congratulations to all our players

Leave a Reply