Kirsten Griffin & Jo Edwards 2010 Victoria Invitation Champions!

Well done to Victoria’s own Kirsten Griffin and Canterbury’s Jo Edwards who walked away with the 2010 Victoria Women’s Invitation Pairs on Sunday with a convincing win in the final. The winner’s cheques of $1000 each were handed over after Helen King (Wilton) and Karen Coombe (Wanganui) conceded with two ends to play at a score of 20-3. Griffin and Edwards were very impressive throughout the weekend with seven straight wins over the two days. King and Coombe had also looked impressive dominating their section to make the final but were unable to stay with the pace losing the title they won last year.

Serena Mathews and Vicki Sheard from Canterbury and the Wellington combination of Lui Hare (Johnsonville) and Jo Climo (Titahi Bay) shared third place.

The inaugural 1-7 Year Invitation Pairs were won by Victoria’s Rhys Hakkens and Jamie Coleman beating the Naenae combination of Adrian O’Brien and Rav Maharaj 14-5 pulling away after an initial tight tussle where the scores had been locked at 5-5 after 5 ends.

Hats off to everyone involved in running the weekend, gathering the teams to make up the two fields, catering, green-keeping, recording, umpiring, controlling the tournament, barmen, raffles, transport and hosting visitors. A great event enjoyed by all!

Leave a Reply