6th National title in 6 years for Victoria – well done Leigh!

The Summerset National Fours champions have been crowned at the Naenae Bowling Club, with New Zealand squad member Mandy Boyd guiding her side of mother and daughter combination Kirsten Edward and Leigh Griffin, along with sister Angela Boyd, to a dominant win against against the well performed side of Margaret O’Connor, Christine Buchanan, Linley O’Callaghan and Anne Dorreen – Boyd’s side racing out to a strong start and holding on to the finish.

The win marked Mandy’s fifth fours title, successfully defending the title from last year’s event – albeit with one change in personnel as Edwards replaced Canterbury’s Sheryl McLean. Between the quartet, it’s the sixth national title the Boyd sisters have won together, while Griffin has starred in three and Edwards in two.

The semi-finals saw Boyd’s side edged a thrilling encounter opposite reigning national women’s singles champion Debbie White, whose line-up included two development bowlers, Angela Stephen and Jocelyn Holten, along with White’s local clubmate Carol Cox – Boyd’s side finishing strong, 19-15.

On the first day of post-section the Boyd combination signalled their intentions early on in the piece, posting a resounding win over the well-performed Reen Stratford 25-13, before edging past Lisa White’s side of Ashleigh Jeffcoat, Kennie Critchlow and Kimberley Hemingway in a thrilling quarter-final showing, 22-21.

The Summerset National Fours were staged across seven clubs (with a further four wet weather alternatives) in the Wellington region, with the finals at the Naenae Bowling Club in Lower Hutt.

Leigh’s title was Victoria’s 6th in 6 years starting with Helen King’s singles title at Taieri, Leigh defending that singles for the club at Browns Bay, Leigh winning the fours three of the last four years, and Neville Rodda taking out the men’s pairs at Paritutu.

Well done Womens Premier Interclub team!

Congratulations to the Women’s Premier Interclub team who won the Wellington competition. Even with Leigh Griffin unavailable due to representative duties, the re-shuffled team still put in a dominant performance winning eight out of nine matches on finals day at Stokes Valley. Johnsonville chased hard and were still a chance going into the final round but were undone with an impressive Helen King beating Kaaren Guilford to pick up her third win of the day in the singles. Sarah Taukamo stepped up to skip the pair with Robyn Rintoul, and the fours won their three including beating Johsonville 26-4 composed of Mary-Ann Wilson, Kay Carr, Nina De Munnik and Nicole Toomey.

The Premier Men’s team finished fourth in a tight competition with only one win separating all four teams at Silverstream. Johnsonville won their first title in many years.

Well done Victoria I bowls3five interclub team!

Congratulations to the Victoria I team that won the inaugural Wellington Bowls3five interclub coming first in the Wellington City round-robin competition before beating Stokes Valley in the semifinal and Naenae in the final on successive Monday nights at the Johnsonville club. Victoria now receives a bye into the last 16 of the national competition and will play the winner of Takaro (Manawatu) and Paraparaumu Beach (Kapiti Coast) on a night and venue arranged and played before March 30th.

The successful team was Robyn Rintoul, Laurie Guy and Mark Noble; Richard Corry, Tim Toomey and Leigh Griffin; Alf De Munnik, Helen King and Lou Newman. Matches were also played by Nicole Toomey and Neil Reid. Notably the Noble and Griffin combinations only lost one of their seven matches.

Victoria also had a second team in the Wellington City competition who had a mathematical chance of making the semifinals up until the last round-robin match.

The concept was enjoyed by all with Victoria ensuring it provided hospitality and atmosphere in an event that is sure to grow.

Well done Ray and Viv!

Congratulations to Ray Pearce winning and Viv Borrie making the final of the Victoria 9-end Singles on Wellington Anniversary Day. The fun event runs with a handicap which worked out quite well with the whole field still with a chance of making the final going into the last of the three rounds of qualifying matches. Premier interclub players gave away 8 points and Mens Premier Reserve 4 points at the start of each 9-end match.